The central section of the Mount Ophir Winery was erected in 1892 for Messrs Eisemann and Gleeson. Extensions to either side were constructed between 1893 and 1903 for Burgoyne & Co, an English firm of wine merchants, who operated the complex as a winery, mainly for export until 1955.
The extensive brick structure incorporates office, fermentation vats and wine making areas and is dominated by a tall cylindrical tower with conical roof in the French provincial style. Each of the wings is expressed by a brick gable with semi circular arched windows and wide segmented arch doorways. The office was originally situated in the tower. This is a substantial and distinctive former winery complex. It is situated on the summit of a small hill and is a landmark of the neighbouring area. The complex is superbly composed with a series of unusual picturesque curved gables and fine arched openings.