The timber residence known as Lyndhurst Hall is a rare, possibly unique example of a two storey portable, prefabricated timber dwelling. The building is also substantially intact and of considerable age dating from the early years of Victoria's European settlement. The building demonstrates the unusual construction techniques of hoop iron tongues socketed into the timber cladding.
Lyndhurst hall was reputedly imported in the 1850s by Edward de Carle, auctioneer and merchant and erected on the comer of Albion and Nicholson Streets, Brunswick. The building was later purchased by Alan Strange, farmer, and moved to its present location at some time between 1866 and 1870.
The former kitchen at the rear of the timber residence is believed to have been the original Strange family homestead. The building demonstrates changing patterns of occupancy of the Strange family.
[Source: Report to the Minister]
Lyndhurst hall, 42-46 Walhalla Street, Coburg, is significant as a rare, possible unique example of a two storey portable, prefabricated timber dwelling. The building demonstrates the unusual construction techniques of hoop iron tongues socketed into the timber cladding. (criterion b.2). The building has historical associations with the early years of Victoria’s
European settlement, particularly in the Brunswick and Coburg area. (criterion a.4)
[Source:MelbourneBacklog Study. Prepared for the Australian Heritage Commission. January 1997.]