Proudfoot's Boathouse near the estuary of the Hopkins River in Warrnambool is a remarkably intact and outstanding example of a group of boatsheds, jetties and an associated residence. The whole complex was designed and built by Thomas Proudfoot himself, and the first building, the single storey timber boathouse with jetty, was erected in 1885. Another single storey shed with a loading dock was built in 1888 and in 1893 the two storey residence was added . Although there have been some alterations and additions internally, many of the principal rooms retain their original paint colours and wood graining. The buildings have elaborate bargeboards and verandah valence, and there are several kauri pine rowing boats which were made in 1885 by Edwards and Son, a leading Melbourne boatbuilder. The boats are included. It is notable that the boathouse complex was owned by the Proudfoot family until it was sold in 1979, a period of 94 years. The boatsheds are of great historical and architectural importance and are indicative of late Victorian recreational activities.The group of buildings forms a significant and picturesque elememt in the Hopkins River landscape.