The Chapel of Grace McKellar House is the only surviving wind of a once extensive rural residence Bell park, erected in 1853-54 for John Bell to Picturesque gothic revival designs by Geelong Architect John Young. The Chapel wing which dates from 1861 was designed by J/L/ Shaw to match the original gothic detailing of the first section of the homestead. John Bell, a pioneer Geelong Pastoralist most probably used this wing as a billiard room annex to his distinctive rural villa. The property later gave its name to the surrounding area and the chapel is a relic of the Bell family presence and influence in the region.
Huddle, Lorraine, "Architects in Geelong in the 1840's and 1850's." Humanities Research Report Department of Architecture, University of Melbourne, 1979. Vol. 1. p19, Vol. 2 pp 18-19, Vol. 3. p. 101.
Brownhill, W. R., The History of Geelong and Corio Bay, Wilke and co., Melbourne, 1955, p367.
Henry, J. A and Collie, N. J. Early Geelong, Do You Remember, Henry Thacker, Geelong, Vol. 1 and 2., reprinted 1971. Vol. 2 p.2.
GeelongAdvertiser, 1. October 1853, 11 May 1854, 14 August 1854, 23 August 1858, 7 March 1861, 12 April 1861, 14 March 1863, 24 January 1879, 28 march 1879, 2 January 1880, 22 January 1880.
Sutherland, Alexander, Victoriaand Its Metropolis, Past and Present, McCarron, Bird and Co., Melbourne, 1888, Vol. 2. p.160, biographical sketches of John Calvert Bell and Alexander Bell, sons of John Bell (1821-1876).