The Victorian Heritage Database is home to the Victorian Heritage Register which lists the state's most significant heritage places, objects and historic shipwrecks protected under the Heritage Act 2017. It's also home to the Victorian Heritage Inventory which lists all known historical archaeological sites in Victoria.

Additionally, the Database stores the records of some local heritage places. This includes those listed in the Heritage Overlays of 29 Local Planning Schemes (note there are 79 Local Government Authorities: the Database does not have access to the information on all heritage overlays). It also includes the records of non-statutory listings held by the National Trust of Australia (Victoria) and the Victorian War Heritage Inventory.

Please check the source of the data you are reading (listed to the right of the title). The colour coding system of entries also reveals if a place is on the Victorian Heritage Register (red entries) or the Victorian Heritage Inventory (dark grey entries). All other entries – National Trust, local government and items in the Victorian War Heritage Inventory – are light grey.

About the Authorities

Heritage Victoria is a business unit in the planning group of the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) and is responsible for administering the Heritage Act.

The Heritage Council of Victoria is an independent statutory authority established under the Heritage Act. It has different responsibilities to Heritage Victoria. The Heritage Council decides what to include in the Victorian Heritage Register. They are the review body for permit and consent decisions made by Heritage Victoria. They are also tasked with promoting public understanding of Victoria’s cultural heritage and they conduct community education and information programs and undertake research projects related to identification, conservation and interpretation of cultural heritage.

Aboriginal Victoria works with traditional owners to protect Aboriginal cultural heritage in Victoria. This includes Aboriginal archaeological sites. 

Councils are responsible for locally significant heritage places and precincts listed in the Heritage Overlay of the local planning scheme. Currently 29 local governments contribute information to the Victorian Heritage Database. The list of the councils is below.

  • Ballarat City
  • Banyule City
  • Boroondara City
  • Brimbank City
  • Cardinia Shire
  • Casey City
  • Darebin City
  • Glen Eira City
  • Glenelg Shire
  • Golden Plains Shire
  • Greater Bendigo City
  • Greater Geelong City
  • Hindmarsh Shire
  • Hobsons Bay City
  • Manningham City
  • Maribyrnong City
  • Maroondah City
  • Melton City
  • Moonee Valley City
  • Moorabool Shire
  • Moreland City
  • Nillumbik Shire
  • Northern Grampians Shire
  • Queenscliffe Borough
  • South Gippsland Shire
  • Southern Grampians Shire
  • Stonnington City
  • Yarra City
  • Yarra Ranges Shire

The National Trust of Australia (Victoria) is a community heritage advocacy group and a non-profit charity. The National Trust operates house museums and heritage properties, including Ripponlea. Classification by the National Trust does not entail legal recognition and the National Trust is not a government body.

The War Heritage Inventory contains information and images of places related to Victoria’s war history including memorials, avenues of honour, memorial buildings, former defence sites and places of commemoration.