The former Adam Rea's Store at 1 Murray Street, Colac stands on the site of the Crook and Plaid Inn, established c.1844. In 1868 Adam Rea constructed the present single storey sandstone building with bluestone plinth, pilasters, quoins and sills and stucco parapet balustrade in a conservative classical mode. Finely detailed arcaded timber shop front windows are located on the Murray Street frontage. No architect is recorded for this building.
The former Adam Rea's Stores were built for noted early Colac pioneer merchant, Adam Rea, who earlier owned the Caledonian Stores and Polwarth Stores in the town. The structure is a unique example of a colonial building shop front in Colac, and a rare survivor in Western Victoria. The conservative classical facade and particularly the timber shop front joinery are notable. The building sits at the site of the Borongarook Creek and entry to the old Colac township and has historical associations with the foundation years of this settlement.
The former Adam Rea' s store has been rehabilitated and converted to restaurant premises, after serving many years as office accommodation. The exterior is intact, the interior completely renovated.