St Margaret's at Berwick has regional significance as an important district educational establishment providing a private education for girls since 1930. Like the former Berwick Boys Grammar School (now Mary Blackwood House) which operated from 1882-1918, St Margaret's was favoured by more affluent district families and demonstrates Berwick's role as a major service centre for a prosperous agricultural and dairying district.
St Margaret's possesses a number of architecturally and historically significant buildings which include the two-storey red brick former Pearson residence Kippenross (1911), used from 1920-1929 as the Berwick Presbyterian Girls School, and from 1930, as St Margaret's; Campbell House (1930) a two-storey red brick building with terracotta roof, designed to match Kippenross; The Cottage a charming neo-Gothic cottage built in 1878; and Gloucester House, a Federation-style bungalow built in 1918. St Margaret's is notable for its location (Kippenross stands on a hill overlooking Gloucester Avenue), and for its fine garden setting, and landscaped driveways to Kippenross and Gloucester House respectively. A large eucalypt (Eucalyptus camaldulensis) is of aesthetic significance for its size and contribution to the landscape.