One of the earliest substantial Roman Catholic churches in Victoria, this bluestone church in the Decorated style was designed by W W Wardell and commenced in 1860 under the superivsion of J B Denny. It was completed in 1909 largely to Wardell's design, under Kempson and Conolly. Windows to the west (1909) and east (1914) by William Montgomery.
A two-manual instrument of 10 speaking stops built in1890 by the Kew organ builder Alfred Fuller for St Mary's Church, Echuca, moved to Redemptorist Monastery, Ballarat in 1970 and installed in its present location in 2000.
The instrument is lavishly constructed from excellent materials and is of particular note for the intact state of its preservation; its romantic-symphonic tonal design, including several unusual stops; the adoption of tubular-pneumatic pedal action, unique in Fuller's surviving work; its outstanding casework in fiddleback blacwood incorporating elaborately decorated facade pipes.