Old Colonists Club was built for the Old Colonists Association during 1887-89, with the present verandah added in 1901. The symmetrical facade is distinguished by its double stage parapet, with balustraded central bays and coat of arms beneath a broken pediment. The double storied, cast iron verandah has an infilled central cable. The interior and especially the hall, stairs and billiard room are distinctive.
Old Colinists Club is a building which is important in terms of streetscape, history and townscape and is of architectural consequence. The Club forms an essential part of the streetscape and townscape of Ballarat and represents an Association which is distinctively of the 19th century and unique to Ballarat. Architecturally the interiors and the detailing of the Classical Revival facade, which derives from Renaissance design, are distinctive and important.
Old Colonists Club is externally very largely intact, with the exception of the shopfronts. Internally the building is largely intact although rooms have been repainted.