The earliest part of the Mount Ophir Winery dates from 1891 and was constructed for Messrs. Eisman and Gleeson. Considerable extensions were completed in 1903 by the Burgoyne family. The extensive brick structure incorporates winemaking rooms, cellars and an office, the latter originally situated in the tower.
This is a substantial and distinctive winery complex. It is situated on the summit of a small hill and is a landmark of the neighbouring area. The buildings are well composed with a series of unusual picturesque curved gables and fine arched openings. The tower with its fine conical roof dominates this composition and expresses the original visitors' entrance. The articulation of the openings on the 1891 wing is unusual and distinctive. The fine quality and colour of the local bricks and brickwork is notable.
The buildings are intact and require only careful maintenance and repair work.