The former Healesville Court House was constructed between 1889 and 1890 by HN Hainer to a design by JT Kelleher in the Victorian Free Classical style. The former Court House is a timber building with hipped gable roof, trussed gables and a skillion front verandah.
The former Healesville Court House is significant for architectural and historical reasons.
The former Healesville Court House is architecturally significant as the most intact remaining example of a former group of five similar timber court houses constructed in the 1880s. The former Court House retains its original built-in furniture and demonstrates skilful design in its use of timber to achieve both picturesque qualities and a complex and ornamental porch verandah. The building is important as a work of the Public Works Department architect, JT Kelleher who in charge of the Eastern District during the 1880s and designed many notable post offices and court houses.
The former Healesville Court House is of historical importance for its association with Joseph Anderson Panton, the first magistrate of the Court House and a prominent Victorian citizen. Panton owned a small house in Healesville and Panton's Gap was named after him. Panton, a warden and magistrate, was responsible for mapping the Yarra Ranges and naming Donna Buang. Panton later became Chief Magistrate in Melbourne and actively maintained interests in the arts and viticulture.