This hotel, constructed in various stages, is of major significance both architecturally and historically. The site was the first to be sold in Ballarat and in May 1853 Thomas Bath constructed a single storey timber building. A second two storey timber section. was added at the end of 1853 which existed until 1890, when the extant corner tower section was constructed to the design of James & Piper Architects. This later section, apart from the tower, echoes the earlier building of 1862, constructed to the design of C.D. Cuthbert after the original single storey timber hotel was destroyed by fire. In 1901 the interior was redecorated and the cast iron porch added.
Externally the building is substantially intact, apart from the infilled loggias on the first and second floors. The south 1862 wing is essentially of Italianate design with square towers and recessed loggias, but with other architectural influences - Lombardic Romanesque arcaded corbel tables, palladian lunettes, Greek Revival square columns and more formal Renaissance Revival window motifs, balustrades and arcaded ground floor. Internally the stairwell, dining room and bar off Bath Lane are substantially intact, and the upper floors have some intact cornices and doors and joinery. The building forms an extremely important corner streetscape element to the Lydiard Street precinct and is in good condition. The design of this hotel is unique to the State of Victoria.