The Werribee Gorge is a natural phenomenon of great beauty and geological interest, which has long been a tourist attraction, source ofwater supply and quarry for road construction stone. The quarry operated from the 1950s until 1975. It was owned by James Crook of the Woolpack Inn from 1854 until 1871.
The gorge is locally of aesthetic significance in revealing its scenic beauty and experience. It is socially significance as a traditional visitor focus and scenic route. It has historical significance also for its association with early gold mining as a pioneering early water supply source, for its association with the important and influential early figures of James Crook and later for the road construction extraction industry. It demonstrate a changing sequence of pattern of use, appreciation and also conservation practice.
It is of scientific cultural significance for its archaeological potential.
This is a small quarry in the western side of Kelly Gully which runs off the northern side of Werribee Gorge. It is currently used as a car park for visitors to Werribee Gorge. The quarry face shows some of the underlying geological strata for which the Gorge is also famous, but has no features of any historical note.
Two huts associated with goldmining (Rose's, 1890s) and another from the 1930s Depression, are said to survive. The former on the eastern bank and the latter on the western, further upstream.6
One of the two sheltersheds survives .
Remnants of McFarlane's private water channel survive. (For the town water channel on the north bank, ref: 67). 7
6 Living Museum of the West Industr ial Heritage Study, Site No.0196. Refer: ref: 330