Barwon Grange, the single storey gothic style villa situated on the northern bank of the Barwon River, was erected in 1856 for Jonathan Porter O'Brien, a merchant shipowner. This brick house of 6 rooms and attic was occupied by a succession of distinguished tenants from 1858-1867, when John Haines, formerly of Mamre Station, near Colac, was owner/occupier. A detached kitchen building was added in 1871.
Barwon Grange is a notable early Victorian villa designed in the appropriate and characteristic picturesque gothic mode of the 1850'. The house is important for its decorative roofline with fretted gable bargeboards, wooden finials and attic dormers. Elegant fenestration and joinery, and a most unsual timber verandah which incorporates a decorative balustrade above the roofline over an ornamental valence and coupled posts, establish the original and distinguished nature of this design. The architect for this villa is unknown.
Barwon Grange has been meticulously restored by the National Trust of Austrialia (Victoria) and is maintained in an excellent, near original condition. The detached kitchen building and other outbuildings have been demolished.