The Diamond House, built in 1866-68 by miner John Hearne, is of historical and architectural significance at a State level.
It is architecturally unique in terms of its structure, form and decoration. The most remarkable feature is that the walls are constructed using white and brown quartz rocks, cemented into diamond patterns created by exposed timber framework. It is also a simple rectangular building, with a flat roof, itself unusual in nineteenth century domestic architecture, and includes unusual herringbone patterned glazing in the windows.
Historically, the house has long been a landmark on the main road into town from the west, and the use of quartz has clear associations with the gold mining of the town.