A single-storey picturesque Elizabethan revival style house built in two stages between 1866 and 1869 by
William Downe, architect and Castlemaine town Surveyor till 1872 on land he acquired in 1866.
The first known occupant was George Farroll, a watchmaker who owned the house between 1869 till his death in 1885. His wife remained there till 1892. The house is constructed of red brick with a corrugated iron roof and is unusual in two respects. Firstly its "pattern-book" Elizabethan form using Flemish gables and castellated bow windows and parapets and, secondly, for its organic plan form largely a result of the later extension of the house by the construction of a separate room in a mirror image of the first section linked by an external enclosed passage.
The building is largely intact although added to at the rear at various stages and is in need of some repair. It is of significance for its unusual vernacular use of picturesque Elizabethan detailing in a cottage format, as an example of the domestic work of Downe, the designer of the Castlemaine Market and for its contribution to the historic city of Castlemaine, a gold town notable for its large collection of small but elaborate and varied cottages.
[Source: Historic Buildings Council]
[NOTE: Registered land also includes Powder Magazine - see Hermes#2151]